Introduction Introduction

Department of Commercial Taxes plays a very significant role in the internal resources mobilisation of the State Government of Jharkhand and accounts for almost 80% of the total internal resources. Soon after the creation of the new state of Jharkhand, the Department of Commercial Taxes was constituted in the State as the premier earner of state revenue.

Presently the Secretary-cum- Commissioner of Commercial Taxes is the Head of the Department. He is assisted by Additional Commissioner, Joint Commissioners, Deputy Commissioners, Assistant Commissioners, Under Secretaries and Commercial Taxes Officers at the Head Quarter level for smooth functioning of the Department.

At the field level the Departmental structure consist of 5 Divisions & 28 Circles headed by Joint Commissioner (Admin) and Deputy. Commissioner (I/c) respectively assisted by Assistant Commissioners and Commercial Tax Officers. Further 3 VAT-Audit wings and 5 Appealate offices headed by Joint Commissioner & 1 state level Tribunal headed by Chairman (Judicial member) is also functional.